Fevers and flu

8 Feb

Its 10:30am on a Thursday and I’m still in bed reading a book (My True Love Gave to Me – 12 Holiday Stories, if you were curious).  Next to me is my son who is asleep and staying home today with a headache and fever.  Today I am happy for his company.  Sure I could be up and about doing more this week but I’m giving myself a pass to just be.  It’ll get busier as the day goes on when he wakes up and the girls come home.

It is now exactly a week later and my son is still sick and staying home from school.  It’s been a rough winter season for illnesses.  I’m a little more tired and rundown and he’s getting a littler more restless and clingy but I am still thankful that he is home with me this week.  Maybe I also am feeling a little clingy and needy or maybe I have gotten used to him being home with me all day now. My son will probably go back to school tomorrow but it seems like God still wants me to have company because my youngest came home from school this morning with a fever of 102.  And quite surprisingly I’m okay with taking care of another sick kid for however long.  In some weird way I think God is using this time to heal me too.

Leave a comment