Hiking with my dog

26 Feb

I was talking to my husband the other day about how walking our dog is becoming such a chore for me. Maybe partly because I walk the same path morning, noon, and night – day after day. Needless to say, I’m a creature of habit.  Even though we’ve had our dog for two years now I’ve hardly ventured out with her during the day.  I looked up some dog friendly hiking trails (there are a lot here) and the next morning I drove to Getty View Park for a 3 mile hike with my dog.  I was worried that it would be too long of a hike so I loaded up my phone with podcasts and my backpack with plenty of water and snacks.

It started off a bit slow because my dog was sniffing around and stopping every 2 feet and I couldn’t get into the first podcast but soon enough I found myself enjoying the hike so much that at the end I felt it was over too soon and I wanted to keep hiking the day away.  It was freeing and and refreshing and invigorating – and bonus, I didn’t have to walk my dog around my neighborhood for the rest of the day.  I binge listened to a series of podcasts and found myself weepy (as I am so prone to nowadays) and encouraged at the same time.  I can’t wait to go on another hike with my dog again this week.  Now I need to find another new trail to venture out on, because I am very tempted to go back to the same trail again.

Leave a comment